Midwest Conference on Asian Affairs 2016


The Midwest Conference on Asian Affairs offers three prizes for papers written by students - the Percy Buchanan Graduate Prize, the Sidney DeVere Brown Prize and the Mikiso Hane Prize for papers written by undergraduates. MCAA also offers the Jackson and Caroline Bailey Public Service Award for outstanding work in the advancement of Asian Studies. These prizes are awarded at the MCAA Annual Meeting held each fall.

Percy Buchanan Graduate Prize

Four Percy Buchanan prizes of $100 each, plus travel expenses of up to $100, will be awarded for the best original graduate student research papers. Papers should be no longer than 35 pages double spaced including the bibliography. Students will have an opportunity to present winning papers at the conference. There is one prize for each of the four main AAS regions: China and Inner Asia, Northeast Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia. Graduate student winners have the opportunity to publish their papers in Studies on Asia. Papers will be reviewed by scholars in the appropriate field.

Award Recipients:

Full Name Institution Paper Region
Carl Kubler University of Chicago

Imagining China’s Children: Lower-Elementary Reading Primers and the Reconstruction of Chinese Childhood, 1945-1951

China & Inner Asia
Keyao Kyle Pan University of Chicago

Nation Building of People’s Republic of China and Postwar Japan through the Creation of the “War Orphans”

Northeast Asia
Ahmed Salim Nuhu Eastern Illinois University

On the Non-Price Determinants of Household Cooking Energy Choice in Nepal

South Asia
Anh Sy Huy Le Michigan State University

A Personalist Revolution: Regime of Migration and Refugee Resettlement in the First Republic of Vietnam, 1954-1956

Southeast Asia


Sidney DeVere Brown Prize and the Mikiso Hane Prize

The Sidney DeVere Brown Prize and the Mikiso Hane Prize are awarded to the two best original papers composed by undergraduates. Prizes of $100, plus travel expenses of up to $100, are awarded to the authors of the winning papers. Paper submissions should be between 10 and 35 pages double spaced and must be accompanied by a letter from the student's professor or advisor confirming that the paper was written while the author was an undergraduate. Papers will be reviewed by scholars in the appropriate field. Undergraduate winners have the opportunity to publish their papers in The Wittenberg East Asian Studies Journal.

Full Name Institution Paper Prize
Emma Leikan Oberlin College

The New-Epoch Builders: Buddhist Identities and the Reclamation of Personhood in the Ambedkar Conversion Movement”

DeVere Brown
Jiayi Li University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Rethinking the Politics of “Apolitical” Intellectuals of China during the Cold War: A Case Study of Two Returnee Scientists — Bao Wenkui and Tan Haosheng

Mikiso Hane


Professor Anne Hansen
Department of History
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Questions concerning these prizes should be directed to Dr. Hansen.


Full Name Institution Department
Mark Bradley University of Chicago


Melissa Curley Ohio State University


Eric Davis Macalester College


Jennifer Esperanza Beloit College


Christine Garlough University of Wisconsion Madison Gender and Women's Studies
Greg Guelcher Morningside College History
Anne Hansen University of Wisconson Madison History
Ji-Eun Lee Washington University East Asian Languages & Culture
Steven Miles Washington University History and International & Area Studies
Noboru Tomonari Carlton College Asian Languages and Literature
Hui Xiao Kansas University East Asian Languages & Culture



Jackson and Caroline Bailey Public Service Award

The award commemorates the lifetime exemplary service to MCAA by Professors Bailey. It recognizes and honors those members of MCAA who have assiduously contributed to outreach, extra-curricular instruction, and public service in their communities. Successful nominees should have made efforts beyond the normal and expected contributions of scholarship and teaching in order to bring Asian Studies to the community at large. Such activities might include: the creation of teaching materials to be used by K-12 teachers; production of Asian-centered audio-visual materials; work with sister city and/or citizen to citizen activities aimed at intercultural exchanges; working for student or faculty exchanges with Asian Universities; arranging Asian film series, community lectures, book clubs, children's story hours, museum exhibitions, and public discussions. In short, this award for lifetime achievement honors those who have devoted time and treasure to public service outside the academy.

Submission requirements: Both nominees and nominators must be regular members of MCAA at the time of nomination. The nomination must be made in writing and should include a summary of the exemplary activities that make the nominee worthy of the award. Nominations should be e-mailed by August 14, 2016 to guelcher@morningside.edu.

Dr. Greg P. Guelcher
Department of History
Morningside College
1501 Morningside Ave.
Sioux City, IA 51106

© University of Illinois Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies 2016